The University of KwaZulu-Natal was formed in 2004 through the merger between two major educational institutions: the University of Natal and the University of Durban-Westville.

It is one of three universities in Africa rated among the top 500 universities of the world according to the Academic Rankings of World Universities (ARWU). UKZN’s international reputation for academic excellence is also recognized by Thomson Reuters, whose “InCites” international research analysis tool has rated mathematics research at UKZN number one in South Africa.

There are five UKZN campuses in Durban and Pietermaritzburg, with four Colleges and 19 Schools offering a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate study options. Its research programs gain international acclaim, such as its innovative Centre for AIDS Research in South Africa. Its Howard Campus, located in the vibrant and beautiful coastal city of Durban, hosts Arcadia’s study abroad students.

UKZN’s motto is: Every Student Matters, which reflects its diverse student body, a strong multi-cultural, multi-racial and gender-inclusive atmosphere and its commitment to individual student success.

Its scenic location in the province of KwaZulu-Natal offers myriad opportunities for extracurricular and co-curricular learning opportunities, taking advantage of two World Heritage sites: the Ukhahlamba Drakensberg National Park and the iSimangaliso (St. Lucia) Wetlands Park.